White Bread


I’ve made a simple white bread from a 1970s Betty Crocker Breads book but it was super yeasty… I wanted to find a less yeasty bread for sandwiches (in the hope that I could make it weekly for our sandwiches).
I used the White Sandwich Bread recipe from the King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion (not the Guaranteed one from the website). It used special ingredients like Potato Flour and Dry Milk, but I had them in the house.
Apparently the trick to a brown top that is still soft is that once you take it out of the oven, let it sit for 15 minutes, then brush the top with butter.
It turned out just right, but I was almost a little disappointed that it tasted so much like white bread… I mean that it tasted like what I could buy in the store, not that smelly yeasty bread I made that felt home made. It was nice and smushy and I really liked it. It smells really good though.
You just can’t please some people. 🙂
We’ll see how it does with PB&J and cold cuts tomorrow.
NOTE: According to Chris, on day 2, the bread is a bit dense. I’ve stored in on the counter in tin foil.

Leave a Reply

