Apple Pie Redux


I made the Blue Ribbon Apple pie from the America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book [ATK FBB] once again, this time for Aunt Mary’s Thanksgiving in February dinner. Yum Yum!
This time I tinkered with the recipe since Chris thought it needed to be sweeter and also needed more cinnamon. He was right.
I still use the ATK FBB All-Butter Double Pie Crust recipe. It’s just perfect.
My changes to the filling were:
add 2 tbsp granulated sugar
add 2 tsp brown sugar
use 1/2 tsp cinnamon (instead of 1/8)
I also used nearly all of the liquid after draining the filling, nearly 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 cup.
I added the lemon juice to the filling when cooking, not after the fact.
I also changed the apples I used. I used almost 5 lbs of apples, 6 granny smith, 3 red delicious, 3 macintosh. This allowed for more sweet apples, and a nice blend of textures in the pie, firm to soft.
Yum!

Leave a Reply

