Mushroom Ragu (from Giada’s Everyday Italian cookbook)

Yummy! This is a mushroom lover’s dream.  🙂  Really fresh tasting with the parsley in it too. It was a perfect chance to use the wild mushrooms I bought at Wegman’s. I love that store! I’m so hooked.  🙂

Chris and I were drooling the whole time it took to cook (45 minutes!), but he was a great sous chef, chopping everything up so that I could cook it as quickly as possible. Especially helpful since I worked late and we were starving. This even works well for calorie counters, especially since I followed this recipe from her cookbook, which omits the cream, but the Food Network website uses cream (Chica, I added the recipe to Livestrong). I’m sure the cream would have made it super creamy and thick, but better for us that I didn’t use it!

I served it over strozzapretti pasta** (fun). I think it will be even better tomorrow (this is a picture of of the leftovers that I’m saving for tomorrow since I forgot to take a picture of our plates).

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 pound mixed mushrooms (cremini, oyster, shiitake) chopped
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup Marsala [I used 1 cup following her cookbook recipe]
  • 2 cups chicken broth [can use vegetable broth of course]
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream  [Oddly enough, her cookbook omits this ingredient, so I cooked without it!]
  • 5 fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 cup flat-leaf Italian parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup grated Parmesan [Cookbook calls for 2/3 cup]

Directions

In a large skillet heat the oil. When almost smoking, add the onions and garlic over medium-low heat until the onions have wilted, about 8 minutes. Add the mushrooms and season with salt and pepper. Raise heat to high and saute until mushrooms are tender and all the liquid has evaporated. Remove pan from heat and pour in Marsala. Return pan to stove and allow wine to evaporate, about 3 minutes. Add chicken broth and simmer for 1/2 hour until the sauce has reduced by half. Add heavy cream and mix well. Take the pan off the heat and add the fresh herbs and Parmesan and mix thoroughly.

My note: Giada says it serves 6 but it is intended to go over a whole pound of pasta, so I consider that serving 8 (a pound makes 8 cups of pasta). It’s really filling too. I had just 1/8 of it and I was stuffed, but it’s sooo yummy and nothing bad for you anyway, except all of the salt from 2/3 cups of grated cheese! I used pecorino romano.

**Interesting Note: strozzapretti means “priest choker” in Italian!  🙂 Really! 

One thought on “Mushroom Ragu (from Giada’s Everyday Italian cookbook)

Leave a Reply

