Easiest Applesauce Ever

We had some yummy September apples from apple picking last weekend with Dad so I decided to search through my cook books for an interesting applesauce recipe that did not require butter. Last year I made the Barefoot Contessa recipe for Applesauce and it actually had a stick of butter in it! That said, it was delicious.
This year, as we plot our dropping pounds on Livestrong, I had to find a better alternative.

I made Shirley O. Corriher’s Easy Applesauce from her book, CookWise. Her explanations are so wonderful… you really understand how things cook, what happens, and why it’s best to cook it her way. It’s the fastest thing I’ve ever made. How can you go wrong with 4 ingredients? Apples, brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt.
My only complaint is that I think the sugar can have been cut in half. Even Chris thinks it’s too sweet. But boy, is it easy. I’m definitely going to make it again, next time with half the sugar.

Ingredients:
5 apples
1/2 cup light brown sugar (I think this can be cut in half)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt

Peel, core, and cut apples into wedges. Throw wedges into a microwave safe glass bowl. Really. Microwave! I couldn’t believe it. Nuke them on High (covered) for 10 minutes. They’ll froth and bubble.
Take out bowl (carefully!) and mash. I like to leave some big chunks too. Stir in the rest of the ingredients.
Eat. Ta daaaa! That’s it!

It was delicious. My photo is after it had been in the fridge for 2 days.


Leave a Reply

