Lemon Tassies

Not my photo, but they looked exactly like this.

So the Christmas cookie vote of 2010 didn’t work well because I was planning to make so many of the traditional cookies that I could only make the winner of the vote for a new cookie. That turned out to be lemon tassies, cookies that didn’t really work for Christmas, but would be great for summer or spring.

I cheated and bought the Barefoot Contessa’s Lemon Curd, which is delicious [although I wasn’t satisfied with Stonewall Kitchen’s delivery practices… I ordered them on 12/17 with 2-3 day priority shipping and they didn’t arrive until the evening of 12/24! So I had to whip up a batch at the last minute on Christmas morning].

The dough was a little too plain for our taste. I used Paula Deen’s recipe for the dough. Next time I’ll try Martha Stewart’s recipe. I like the idea of a little zest in the dough, and perhaps a little thinner dough too.
The curd was out of this world. I’m hooked on it. I’ll just have to buy it elsewhere.

Dough for Tassie Cups:
1 (3-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

For the Tassie Cups: Place all of the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until the mixture forms a ball. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill until firm, about 1 hour.

Form the pastry into 24 small balls; press with fingers into the bottom and up the sides of ungreased miniature muffin tins. Bake for 20 minutes, until lightly browned. Remove from tray when cooled and fill with curd.

Leave a Reply

