Fried Green Tomatoes

A branch of my tomato plant broke today so I had two large and two small green tomatoes that would never be able to ripen.
I cut off the branch and decided to make fried green tomatoes. See what all of the fuss is about. It also helped that I had some buttermilk leftover from last week when I made the Barefoot Contessa’s coconut cake for Elaine’s birthday. Yummy as usual.  🙂
Fried green tomatoes taste just like fried zucchini to me!
I made the traditional southern recipe but next time I’ll try frying them Italian style… with italian breadcrumbs and grated cheese. The thinner slices were better than the thicker ones. Mmmmmm.
I liked them. The cornmeal gave them a nice crunch. Good with a little extra salt after frying.

Recipe from Tyler Florence:

  • green tomatoes, sliced about 1/2″ thick
  • 3/4 c buttermilk
  • salt/pepper
  • 1/2 c cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (I omitted this for Chris’ sake)
  • canola oil

Dip the tomato slices in bowl with buttermilk, salt and pepper. In other bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, and garlic powder (and cayenne if you’re using it). Dredge slices in cornmeal mixture and fry in canola oil for 3-4 minutes per side. Let cool on paper towel to absorb oil. Yum!

Leave a Reply

