Creamy Mushrooms (evil) and Blue Potato Leek Soup

Soooo delicious…. would be better with fresh parsley (I only had dried)

I know, the title sounds strange, but there’s an explanation.
The creamy mushrooms recipe is Jamie Oliver’s but I made a slightly more evil version because Chris and I had a strange idea that it called for bacon (like this Nigella Lawson recipe). This was delicious. I didn’t have crusty bread to serve with it so I baked up some puff pastry from Trader Joe’s. It didn’t puff properly and didn’t taste great, so we ate the mushrooms plain and then threw some into the potato leek soup, which was delicious!

Next time I’ll serve the mushrooms with crusty bread (and no bacon). It’s a great treat. I would make this without bacon next time and serve it with a side of bright arugula salad with lemon and pecorino romano to cut the heaviness.

My recipe:
3 tbsp butter
3 slices bacon, sliced into 1/4″ pieces
1 lb mushrooms (I used oyster, shitake, cremini), trimmed and sliced
1/4 red onion, thinly sliced
1/2 cup heavy cream
salt, pepper
parsley (fresh is better, I only had dried)

Melt butter in large pan. Add bacon, cook until soft and just starting to brown. Add onions and mushrooms.
Cook for 10-15 minutes until onions soft and translucent and mushrooms are cooked down. Add salt, pepper, cream, and cook for 10 more minutes on med-low flame to reduce cream. Add parsley too (if fresh, add at the end). Serve with crusty bread. Delicious.

Now I’m sure you want to know why the potato leek soup was blue. It was actually grayish. Not very appealing, but trust me, it wasn’t a Bridget Jones-type error, I just had blue potatoes in the kitchen. Blue potatoes blended with white potatoes and leeks and cream makes gray/bluish soup.  🙂  It’s the same potato leek soup recipe that I made before, just tweaked a little (2 c cream, 3/4 c skim milk, 6 potatoes, 4 small trimmed leeks… it’s a very flexible recipe).

Blue and white potatoes cooking with leeks
Finished soup, slightly blue, slightly gray   🙂
Leave a Reply

