Bittman’s banana bread

Chris and I have made this recipe a million times… I thought I should finally put it on the blog, especially since this time I used the new How to Cook Everything app to make it! I love this app… iPads are great in the kitchen. I can’t wait to use it with messy recipes once the screen protector arrives! Bittman’s banana bread is excellent. Sometimes, when I run out of whole wheat flour I just use all AP flour. This recipe is super flexible. I have made it with nuts, plain, and with chocolate chips (Chris’ favorite). I’d love to try it with coconut but Chris doesn’t like that. 🙂

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp kosher salt
1 stick unsalted butter
2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 bananas

Preheat oven to 350 F. Butter loaf pan. Mash bananas and mix with all other ingredients. Make sure butter is softened before you mix it all. You can mix in 1/2 cup coconut flakes or chocolate chips or walnuts. Bake for 60 to 75 minutes until toothpick comes out clean and top of bread is golden and split open. If you use a clear glass loaf pan you’ll see that the sides and bottom get very dark. It’s much more flavorful the next day if you can wait.

Leave a Reply

