Apricot Turnovers

Another example of my not having enough confidence to trust my instincts…

I did a quick search for apricot hand pies since I had a bumper crop from Fresh Direct (they couldn’t fulfill my request so they sent me a million apricots, which was nice) and they were ripening faster than we could eat them.

The recipe I found definitely needs tweaks… it called for too much lemon and additional zest, and would have used half of the apricots I had prepped for the amount of puff pastry that I used.

Here is the recipe as I will try it next time, but this is generally how I made it… next time I’ll add a little more sugar (which is reflected in the recipe here) and coarse sugar for the top (which I didn’t have -the granulated sugar just didn’t work as well), and I will omit the lemon zest and only add a tiny bit of lemon juice (also reflected below).

  • 1 box frozen puff pastry (Pepperidge Farm, both sheets), thawed on counter for 40 minutes
  • 3-4 large ripe apricots, chopped small
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp corn starch
  • 1 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • pinch salt
  • turbinado sugar for top
  • 1 egg, beaten, for wash

Thaw puff pastry as directed (about 40 minutes on counter). While you’re waiting, chop the apricots, and mix with the granulated sugar, starch, salt, and lemon juice and let it sit a bit while the dough defrosts and the oven preheats (to 375 F).

Lightly roll out pastry dough a little bit then cut each sheet into 4 large squares (not perfect squares, but it’s close), leaving a total of 8 squares. Brush 2 edges of each with egg  and put 1/8 of fruit mixture (large spoonful) into center. Fold into triangle and seal edges with tines of fork. Poke a couple of small holes in top of each turnover with very sharp knife or clip with scissor, then brush with egg wash and sprinkle with turbinado (large crystal) sugar.

Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden brown and bubbling. Let cool to room temp or else you will burn your mouth on the molten fruit inside!

Makes 8 turnovers.

I only took the photo after I had given the guys the best looking ones. Gotta love having a basement full of nerds for taste testing!  🙂

turnovergood

Yummy… notice that I cooked them on parchment paper (hooray easy cleanup!) and that a little of the apricot filling squirted out of it in the back!

Leave a Reply

