Chewy Cherry Oatmeal Squares (vegan)

This was a recipe I found on Talia Fuhrman’s blog. She’s been raised as a nutritarian and my friend at work let me know about her site. These bars looked like heaven seeing as how I haven’t had sweets in a long time!

barstray

Bars were cut while still a little warm. Center was a tiny bit soft, but just at the corners.

They are tasty, but actually taste like cherry banana oatmeal, not like a dessert. Now to be fair, Chris and I tasted one piece when they were still warm. I will update this post when I try another piece at breakfast tomorrow. Since it’s really just oatmeal and nut flours with fruit I think this would make a great breakfast-on-the-go bar or a healthy snack. I put a few in the fridge and the rest I wrapped individually in cling wrap and put in the freezer.

barswrapped

Ready for the fridge and freezer. We’ll see how they hold up.

I made only one or two modifications to the original recipe. My version follows:

Makes 16 squares.

1.5 cups almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

10 dates, pitted (calls for medjool but I have no idea what kind mine were – the package just said dates)

1/2 tbsp cinnamon (also called for nutmeg but Chris and I don’t like nutmeg)

1/2 tsp almond extract (I think it always goes well with cherries)

3 small ripe bananas (orig. calls for large, which I didn’t have)

2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup almond flour

1/2 cup oat flour

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

2 cups frozen cherries (no sugar added)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 F.
  • Put almond milk and dates in microwave-safe bowl. Microwave for 45 seconds.
  • Blend bananas, almond milk, dates, cinnamon and extract in blender (I used the nutribullet, thanks to Mom). Set aside.
  • Put remaining dry ingredients into large bowl and mix. Add liquid mixture and stir to blend. Fold in cherries.
  • Put mixture in 9×9 pan lined with parchment.
  • Bake for 40-50 minutes, until center is no longer soft (use toothpick or knife). I didn’t cook mine long enough (called fro 30 minutes, but it was still gooey in middle, so I added 10 min). Could definitely have gone for 50 min. More banana would help the flavor too.

Nutritional info (per square):

  • 207 calories
  • 60 calories from fat
  • 6.66 g fat
  • 0.81g sat fat
  • 0 cholesterol
  • 19.63 mg sodium
  • 32.79 g carbs
  • 5 g dietary fiber
  • 8.8 g sugar
  • 5.58 g protein

UPDATE: These DO NOT freeze well! They are mush when they defrost. It’s good if you’d like to make soft oatmeal squares for a group breakfast, but not for storage.

One thought on “Chewy Cherry Oatmeal Squares (vegan)

Leave a Reply

