Mushroom Veggie Chili (very mild)

Chris does not like spicy food and he helped me make this (hooray for my sous chef!), and so we made this batch mild enough for him to eat it. Next time I think I would add more chili pepper or jalapeno or something. I really love it. The flavors are great and it feels filling. I bring it for lunch at work with a salad or raw veggies. Yum!

As for the spices, I didn’t measure, just kind of added more as it needed it. I kept tasting it to see how it was while cooking. I used a lot of paprika especially.

IMG_20130901_200340_821

Unfortunately all of these vegan dishes are in my take-away containers, ready for work and the freezer! Not pretty, but it works.

2 onions (1 red 1 yellow, just what was on hand), diced

2 tbsp vegetable broth

2 red bell peppers, diced

mushrooms (I used two 10 oz containers of cremini, and 1 container of shiitake), chopped

2 cans red kidney beans, rinsed

2 cans No Salt Added stewed tomatoes with celery, green peppers, and onions (we used DelMonte)

paprika

cayenne pepper

onion powder

garlic powder

1/2 bunch fresh scallions, chopped

Saute onions in veggie broth until translucent, 5-10 min. Add spices. Add peppers and cook until soft another 5-10 min. Add stewed tomatoes and mash, cook another 5 minutes. Add beans and simmer until it thickens and liquid cooks down by half, about 30-40 minutes, tasting as it cooks to check to see how much more spice you need.

Once it’s thick and yummy looking, add scallions and serve. Makes 5 pints. Stores well in the fridge or freezer.

Leave a Reply

